The Association

We're the Higher Education Web Professionals Association — but please, call us HighEdWeb.

Attendees laughing around a table

The Higher Education Web Professionals Association (HighEdWeb) is the international organization of professionals working to design, develop, manage and map the future of digital in higher education. Each fall, we come together at our Annual Conference and related master-class intensive Academies, and we remain active year-round via smaller HighEdWeb regional meetups and our LINK Online Journal.

The Annual Conference

The HighEdWeb Annual Conference is the conference created by and for higher education digital professionals. It offers four days of high-quality presentations from fellow professionals, internationally-recognized keynote speakers and outstanding, interactive networking events – all at affordable rates. From developers, marketers and programmers to managers, designers, writers and all team members in-between, HighEdWeb provides valuable professional development for all who want to explore the unique digital issues facing colleges and universities.

Code of Conduct


The HighEdWeb community is awesome, and we want to keep being awesome for everyone involved. Just a reminder of what you already know: HighEdWeb is dedicated to working toward a harassment-free community experience for everyone, regardless of factors such as sex, gender, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, ability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, nationality, culture, class, age or faith. Learn more about our Code of Conduct.

Conference Organizers/Committee

  • Ben Rapin, Grand Valley State University — conference chair
  • Sven Aas, Mount Holyoke College — keynote
  • Natalie Brown — content
  • Waylon Baumgardner, California Baptist University — finance
  • Colleen Brennan-Barry, New York Chiropractic College — marketing and communications
  • Sara Clark, Missouri State University — HEWeb director of operations
  • Chris D’Orso, Stony Brook University — accessibility; social media
  • Larry Falck, Francis Marion University — A/V
  • Joel Goodman — design (digital)
  • Cheryl McKay, Missouri University of Science and Technology — academies
  • Tonya Oaks Smith, Henderson State University — sponsorship
  • Anne Petersen — photography; safety and inclusion
  • Sarah Ryder, Hampshire College — vice-chair
  • George Sackett, St. Louis Community College — volunteer coordination
  • Jeff Stevens, University of Florida Health — design (print)
  • Tom Wojciechowski, Daemen College — registration; giveaways
  • Jason Woodward — technology

Program Committee

  • Doug Tschopp, Augustana College — program chair
  • Lori Packer, University of Rochester — vice-chair
  • Lisa Catto, Western Oregon University
  • Glenn Donaldson, Ohio State University
  • Paul Gilzow, University of Missouri
  • Karen Hackett, Pennsylvania State University
  • Lacy Paschal, Vanderbilt University
  • Aaron Rester, Roosevelt University
  • Matt Ryan, Carleton College
  • Andrew Shearouse, Augustana College
  • Martin Sickafoose, Purdue University
  • Robin Smail, Pennsylvania State University
  • Jeff Stevens, University of Florida
  • Michelle Tarby, LeMoyne College
  • Jackie Vetrano, University of North Carolina
  • John Wagner, Princeton University
  • Michael Wardach, Augustana College

Questions? Email